OCHS First Decade Teams

Phil Schafer was top Raider boys basketball player in First Decade!

Gazette Staff Writer

In Ocean City High School boys basketball The First Decade fit neatly between two very special seasons - the incredible overtime win the 1999 South Jersey final and the equally incredible overtime win in the 2010 Cape-Atlantic League championship game. There were some good teams in the decade, especially in the middle of the 10-year period, and the program celebrated the new Dixie Howell Memorial Gymnasium.

Many players contributed to the decade. The one who made the biggest contribution was Player of the Decade Phil Schaffer, who played four years, becoming all-conference. He could score (817 points) but he much more enjoyed helping somebody else score.

And the other four players on the First Decade All Star team could score. Led by Dave Beyel, a 1,000-point scorer who finished as the ninth leading scorer at OCHS, the group also includes Trey Severs, the greatest three-point shooter in CAL history; Matt Whitworth, who broke some OCHS three-point marks; and Steve West, a lightning-quick guard.

On the second team is West's backcourt mate, Andre Legette; three-point shooter Al Genz; and a trio of forwards who had great versatility - Micah Rolls, Mike Wood and Chris Curran.

You should know that a new decade began on Jan. 1, 2010 so almost all of the 2010 OCHS championship season performances are not taken into consideration for this First Decade all star team.

Phil Schaffer joins Mike Rowell (90s), Bob McAllister (80s), Bill Fisher (70s) and Ken Leary (60s) as OCHS Boys Basketball Players of the Decade.

OCHS Boys Cross Country in the First Decade
1999-2000...6-18........John Bruno
2000-01....12-12........John Bruno
2001-02.....6-18........John Bruno
2002-03.....9-14........John Bruno
2003-04....10-14........John Bruno
2004-05....18-8.........John Bruno
2005-06....16-11........John Bruno
2006-07....13-14........John Bruno
2007-08.....6-18........John Bruno
2008-09.....8-18........John Bruno

The First Decade Raider Boys Basketball Team
First Team
Steve West (2002)
Phil Schaffer (2005)
Dave Beyel (2006)
Trey Severs (2007)
Matt Whitworth (2009)
Second Team
Al Genz (2000)
Andre Legette (2002)
Micah Rolls (2003)
Mike Wood (2006)
Chris Curran (2009)