OCHS Teams of the Century

Jeff Michner Raider Golfer of the Century!

Gazette Staff Writer

Jeff Michner, who is in his senior year at Ocean City High School, didn't even need his fourth season to prove that he is the best golfer the school has ever had.

Michner has been the low scorer on the Raiders each of the last three seasons. Only two other players have done that before and neither of them had the pair of sub-40 seasons that Michner has compiled the last two years. He has also been part of two Cape-Atlantic League division champions and, most significantly, has done it all while playing at Greate Bay Golf Club. Prior to 1994, the Raiders' home course was the much less challenging B.L. England course.

Joining Michner on the OCHS All-Century team are Desmond Atkinson and Jim McKeon, the only two golfers to pace their team four straight seasons. Michner will attempt to equal that accomplishment next spring.

Others include Tim Pashley, who played with McKeon in 1979 and then led the team in 1980, both undefeated seasons; Scott Wilson, who was low scorer for two seasons in the 1990s; Bill Keucher, a strong player in the mid-80s; Joe Tyrrell, an all-league player in the 70s; Tom Heenan, low scorer in 1996; Steve Breunig, who played with Pashley in 1979-80; and Jason Petrella, a key player for three seasons in the 90s.

The coach of the all-century team is the late Ralph Carson, a teaching golf pro who directed the team from 1974-87. Carson's teams had back-to-back undefeated seasons in 1979-80 - the only two in school history - and 10 straight winning seasons.

The Team of the Century was the 1980 NJSIAA Division 8 and Cape-Atlantic League champions that finished 15-0. This team won the District 8 (equivalent to South Jersey) title by 22 strokes over second place Hammonton. Pashley, who finished high in the South Jersey individuals as both a senior and junior, led the team. The other three players who provided most of the scoring were Breunig, Joe Blewitt and Matt Unsworth.

The All-Century Raider Golf Team
Joe Tyrrell (1977)
Jim McKeon (1979)
Steve Breunig (1980)
Tim Pashley (1980)
Bill Keucher (1985)
Desmond Atkinson (1988)
Scott Wilson (1995)
Tom Heenan (1996)
Jason Petrella (1998)
Jeff Michner (2001)
Coach Ralph Carson (1974-87)

The 1980 Team - Best of the Century
Joe Blewitt
Steve Breunig
Tim Pashley
Matt Unsworth
Coach Ralph Carson

Championship Teams
NJSIAA District 8 titles: 1980, 1979
CAL-National titles: 1980, 1979
CAL-American title: 1988
CAL division titles: 2000, 1998

20th Century Coaches Records
Pat Dougherty-Skip Angello (3 years).....50-14-0 [.781]
Pat Dougherty-Eric Ortolf (5)..................73-34-0 [.682]
Matt Oster (5).......................................42-48-0 [.467]
Ralph Carson (14).................................181-73-10 [.713]
Dave Streaser (3)..................................22-29-4 [.431]